Block 593 Lots: 48,47,44,43,42. These charming Landmark Federal houses were erected in 1827-28 by Daniel H. Weed and Joseph D. Baldwin, builders, active in the neighborhood. They are both two and one-half stories high over a basement, and each house has a central dormer with a triple sash window, the latter replacing the pair of dormers usually found in houses of this period. The facades are executed in Flemish bond, characteristic of the Federal period, and the stone window lintels are flush with the brickwork. The relatively small mullioned windows are framed with exterior window blinds. The roof cornice of No. 14,is elaborated by small brackets with fascia panels between them, representing a later replacement. The handsome doorway and the wood rustications appear behind a pair of slender Doric columns, and the transom bar is broken forward at the sides to receive the blocks surmounting the columns. Above is a rectangular transom and a simpler version, with four panes. No. 14 was erected for Curtis Hitchcock of New York, a plough manufacturer. No.16: This three-story frame house, with a brick front, was erected in 1828. It was originally a two and one-half story house, like its neighbors at Nos. 12 and 14, as may be seen in the change from Flemish bond to running bond above the second story. The dignified Federal doorway is in this case extremely simple, relieved only by the fanlight of the transom and the paneling of the door. The mullioned windows are typical of those found in Federal houses. The upper story and the modillioned roof cornice were added at a later date. The original ironwork has been retained. The house was erected for Francis Barretto, a Washington Street merchant, who was one of the notables who frequented the Park Theatre. No.18: Built between 1827 and 1831, this house stands on the rear portion of the lot of No. 16 Christopher Street. It was originally a three-story frame house with a brick front. In 1882 a fourth story was added, and the house was extended. Thus, it serves as a transition between its lower neighbors on one side and the higher building on the other. The wood reveals of its simple doorway are attractively paneled. The low yard railing has the Greek fret motif at the bottom. No. 16: An attractive brick house in the Federal style, this house was built in 1828. The third story was added in running bond at a later date in contrast to the Flemish bond of the first two floors. The cornice, supported by modillions and by short brackets, has panels in the fascia board; Neo-Greco in style, it is typical of the 1870’s. The windows have their original mullioned sash. Window lintels vary at each level, those of the first floor having the simple dignified paneling of the Federal style, while those on the upper floors are flush and undecorated. The simple ground floor doorway has brick reveals. The house was evidently built by Elias J. Kent, a mason of Stanton Street. No.18 & 20: This pair of charming little Federal houses was built in 1827 by Daniel Simonson, a carpenter who had purchased the lots that year. These two and one-half story houses of Flemish bond brickwork have gambrel roofs, which are now echoed by the roofs of the dormers. Each house has a dormer window, which is triply divided while its gable is decorated with a sunburst pattern. No.18 has three simple panels on the fascia board of its roof cornice and a paneled doorway with fanlight giving access to the upper floors. No.20 has its original paneled Federal door and doorframe with panels replacing the original sidelights. In the corners may be seen the original semi-engaged colonnettes, while those which once stood in front of the pilasters on either side of the door have been replaced by brackets at the top under the transom bar.
At both houses the charming wood shop fronts, which were doubtless added at a later date, consist of glass windows and corner colonnettes set under small continuous hoods, which shelter both show window and door.
Improvement Description: Properties consist of five adjacent, 2.5 and 3 story walk up retail residential buildings containing two retail stores and 31 residential apartments consisting of approximately 71+ total residential rooms, plus basements. Total combined gross building area of approximately 10,961+ sq. ft. above grade, plus basements. THESE BUILDINGS HAVE COMMON UTILITIES.
Site Description: Plot size combined is 63.00’ X 60.33’ (irregular shaped lots), total land area of 5,590+ square feet. Frontage along both Gay Streets and Christopher Street are 57.96+ feet and 63.00+ feet respectively, with varying depths of 60.33+ to 61.67+ feet.
THIS SALE MAY BE SUBJECT TO COURT APPROVAL
|Real Estate Taxes||$239,869 [Per Annum]|
|Ownership||Income Property||Building Type||Townhouse|
|C of O||2/28/2019||Initial Showing||2/15/2019|
|On Market||2 Days||Status||Active|
|R / B / B||0/0/0|
|Retail Units / Vacant||2 / 1|
|Residential Rent||$400,699||$700,000||Gross Rent Per Annum||$595,099||$918,400|
|Rent Roll Notes|
|11 vacant apts 1 vacant basement store|